• Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Joanna Bator

Poland

Joanna Bator © Krzysztof Łukasiewicz

Photo: Krzysztof Łukasiewicz

Joanna Bator, b. 1968, Wałbrzych/Poland, studied cultural studies in Wrocław and philosophy in Warsaw, earning her doctorate with a thesis on feminism, postmodernism and psychoanalysis. She has published two collections of essays on Japan and three novels.

In her debut novel Piaskowa Góra (tr.: Sandy mountain, 2009), Bator tells the story of several generations of women against the backdrop of Poland’s fraught 20th-century history. In Chmurdalia (tr.: Cloudalia, 2010), Bator extends the action to encompass a vast panorama of continents and centuries, and focuses on themes such as alienation and the search for a homeland. Her most recent novel Ciemno, prawie noc (tr.: Dark almost night, 2012) focuses on the fragility of a society that has lost its common language due to xenophobia and intolerance.

Bator’s awards include the Nike Literary Award, which is Poland’s most distinguished literary award, and the Swiss Spycher prize. In 2014, she held the Friedrich Dürrenmatt Guest Professorship of World Literature at the University of Bern. She was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2015.

Bibliographie

Bibliography

Piaskowa Góra
W.A.B.
Warsaw, 2009

Chmurdalia
W.A.B.
Warsaw, 2010

Ciemno, prawie noc
W.A.B.
Warsaw, 2012

Rekin z parku Yoyogi
W.A.B.
Warsaw, 2014

Wyspa łza
Znak
Krakow, 2015

Back to writers
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0

(English)
  • Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Joanna Bator

Polen

Joanna Bator © Krzysztof Łukasiewicz

Foto: Krzysztof Łukasiewicz

Joanna Bator, 1968 in Wałbrzych/Polen geboren, studierte Kulturwissenschaft in Breslau und Philosophie in Warschau und promovierte mit einer Arbeit über Feminismus, Postmodernismus und Psychoanalyse. Sie publizierte zwei Essaybände über Japan sowie drei Romane.

In ihrem Debütroman Sandberg (2009, dt. 2011) erzählt Bator die Geschichte mehrerer Generationen von Frauen, die sich mit der polnischen Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts verbindet. In Wolkenfern (2010, dt. 2013) weitet Bator die Handlung zu einem großen Panorama von Kontinenten und Jahrhunderten aus und beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie Fremdheit und Heimatsuche. Ihr neuer Roman Dunkel, fast Nacht (2012, dt. 2016) erzählt von der Brüchigkeit einer Gesellschaft, die durch Hetze und Hass ihre gemeinsame Sprache verloren hat.

Bator wurde u. a. mit dem Nike, dem wichtigsten polnischen Literaturpreis, und dem Spycher: Literaturpreis Leuk ausgezeichnet. 2014 hatte sie die Friedrich Dürrenmatt Gastprofessur für Weltliteratur an der Universität Bern inne, 2015 war sie Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Bibliographie

Bibliographie

Japoński wachlarz
Twój Styl
Warschau, 2004

Sandberg
Suhrkamp
Berlin, 2011
[Ü: Esther Kinsky]

Wolkenfern
Suhrkamp
Berlin, 2013
[Ü: Esther Kinsky]

Wyspa łza
Znak
Krakau, 2015

Dunkel, fast Nacht
Suhrkamp
Berlin, 2016
[Ü: Lisa Palmes]

Zurück zur Autoren-Übersicht
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0