• Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Najet Adouani

Tunisia

Najet Adouani © Privat

Photo: private

Najet Adouani, b. 1956, El Hamma/Tunisia, is a poet, writer, journalist and activist for human rights, women’s rights and freedom of expression. After earning her degree in journalism, she penned articles for numerous oppositional Tunisian newspapers and wrote poetry. Since 1982, she has published seven volumes of poetry and a collection of short stories. Her most recent work is a bilingual German-Arabic collection of poetry entitled Meerwüste (tr.: The desert of the sea) which was published in 2015.

Adouani’s prose and poetry, which often focuses on violence and loss, has been translated into several languages. She resists oppression, injustice and the brutality of dictatorial systems through the beauty of language and poetry of images.

Since 1983, Adouani has been repeatedly forced to leave her homeland Tunisia because of her critical writing. After the Tunisian revolution, her works were banned and she fled to Germany in 2012. She has been a guest of the “Writers in Exile” program of the PEN Center Germany since April 2013.

Bibliographie

Bibliography

Meerwüste
Lotos Werkstatt
Berlin, 2015
[tr.: Leila Chammaa]

Back to writers
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0

(English)
  • Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Najet Adouani

Tunesien

Najet Adouani © Privat

Foto: privat

Najet Adouani, 1956 in El Hamma/Tunesien geboren, engagiert sich als Dichterin, Schriftstellerin und Journalistin für Meinungsfreiheit, Menschen- und Frauenrechte. Nach einem Journalismusstudium schrieb sie neben Artikeln für oppositionelle tunesische Zeitungen Gedichte und veröffentlichte seit 1982 sieben Lyriksammlungen und einen Erzählband. 2015 erschien ihr neuer Gedichtband Meerwüste in deutsch-arabischer Ausgabe.

In ihrer Prosa und Lyrik, die in zahlreiche Sprachen übersetzt wurde, beschäftigt sich Adouani mit Themen wie Gewalterfahrung und Verlust. Mit der Schönheit der Sprache und der Poesie der Bilder widersetzt sie sich Unfreiheit, Ungerechtigkeit und Brutalität in diktatorischen Systemen.

Durch ihre kritische journalistische Arbeit sah sich Adouani seit 1983 wiederholt gezwungen, ihre Heimat Tunesien zu verlassen. Nach der tunesischen Revolution erhielt sie Veröffentlichungsverbot und ging 2012 ins Exil nach Deutschland. Seit April 2013 ist Adouani Gast des „Writers in Exile“-Programms des PEN-Zentrums Deutschland.

Bibliographie

Bibliographie

Meerwüste
Lotos Werkstatt
Berlin, 2015
[Ü: Leila Chammaa]

Zurück zur Autoren-Übersicht
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0