• Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Priya Basil

Great Britain

Priya Basil © Tatyana Kronbichler

Photo: Tatyana Kronbichler

Priya Basil, b. 1977, London/Great Britain, grew up in Kenya and lives today in London and Berlin. She studied English Literature at the University of Bristol and subsequently worked for three years in advertising before moving to Berlin to begin writing her debut novel Ishq and Mushq (2007).

Her second novel–a love story between a British Muslim and a Kenyan Sikh titled The Obscure Logic of the Heart–appeared in 2010 with translation into German following in 2012. Her essays also appear regularly in renowned publications such as The Guardian, Lettre International and Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.

As co-founder of the Authors for Peace initiative and co-author of a 2013 appeal against mass digital surveillance, Basil engages with political issues. Her literary work has been nominated for numerous awards including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize and the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

www.priyabasil.com

Bibliography

Bibliography

Ishq and Mushq
Doubleday
London, 2007

The Obscure Logic of the Heart
Doubleday
London, 2010

Strangers on the 16:02
Transworld Publishers
London, 2011

Back to writers
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0

(English)
  • Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Priya Basil

Großbritannien

Priya Basil © Tatyana Kronbichler

Foto: Tatyana Kronbichler

Priya Basil, 1977 in London/Großbritannien geboren, wuchs in Kenia auf und lebt heute in London und Berlin. Sie studierte Englische Literatur an der Universität von Bristol und arbeitete danach drei Jahre lang in der Werbebranche, bevor sie nach Berlin zog und dort an ihrem Debütroman Ishq and Mushq (2007) zu schreiben begann.

2010 erschien ihr zweiter Roman Die Logik des Herzens (dt. 2012), der die Liebesgeschichte zwischen einer britischen Muslima und einem kenianischen Sikh erzählt. Außerdem veröffentlicht Basil regelmäßig Essays in renommierten Publikationen wie The Guardian, Lettre International und der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung.

Als Mitbegründerin der Initiative Authors for Peace und als Co-Autorin eines 2013 entstandenen Aufrufs von Schriftstellern gegen digitale Massenüberwachung engagiert sich Basil für politische Themen. Ihr literarisches Werk wurde u. a. für den Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, den Dylan Thomas Prize sowie den International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award nominiert.

www.priyabasil.com

Bibliographie

Bibliographie

Ishq and Mushq
Doubleday
London, 2007

Strangers on the 16:02
Transworld Publishers
London, 2011

Die Logik des Herzens
Schöffling & Co.
Frankfurt a. M., 2012
[Ü: Barbara Christ]

Zurück zur Autoren-Übersicht
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0