• Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Sergey Lebedev

Russia

Sergej Lebedew © James Hill

Photo: James Hill

Sergey Lebedev, b. 1981, Moscow/Russia, is a journalist and author. Before devoting himself to writing, he spent several years traveling on geological expeditions in the north of Russia and in Central Asia. Discovering the remnants of former gulags during his excavations inspired him to write literary works focusing on Russia’s erased history.

Two of his novels that were translated into English and German, Oblivion (2011, Eng. 2016) and Menschen im August (tr.: People in August, in German 2015), examine the impact of Stalinism on Russia today.

Lebedev has also personally felt the consequences of a repressive political regime; the newspaper he had been writing for was closed during the Ukraine conflict. After several years of searching for a publisher in Russia, his novel Ljudi awgusta (tr.: People in August) was published in German translation before publication in Russia in January 2016.

Bibliography

Bibliography

God komety
Centr knigi Rudomino
Moscow, 2014

Menschen im August
S. Fischer
Frankfurt a. M., 2015
[tr.: Franziska Zwerg]

Oblivion
New Vessel Press
New York, NY, 2016
[tr.: Antonia W. Bouis]

Back to writers
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0

(English)
  • Bücher einiger Autor*nnen der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Sergej Lebedew

Russland

Sergej Lebedew © James Hill

Foto: James Hill

Sergej Lebedew, 1981 in Moskau/Russland geboren, beschäftigt sich als Journalist und Autor mit der Aufarbeitung der Stalinzeit. Bevor er sich dem Schreiben widmete, war er jahrelang mit seinen Eltern auf geologischen Expeditionen im russischen Norden und in Zentralasien unterwegs. Die Entdeckung ehemaliger Gulags bei Grabungen weckte sein literarisches Interesse an der russischen Vergangenheit.

Seine beiden in Deutschland erschienenen Romane Der Himmel auf ihren Schultern (2011, dt. 2013) und Menschen im August (2015) betrachten die Sowjetzeit und die Auswirkungen der Unterdrückung im stalinistischen System durch die Linse der Familiengeschichte.

Lebedews Arbeit selbst blieb von politischen Repressionen nicht unberührt. Als Journalist schrieb er in den letzten Jahren für eine Zeitung, die infolge des Ukrainekonflikts verboten wurde. Menschen im August erschien in deutscher Übersetzung als Weltpremiere, da eine Veröffentlichung in Russland nach mehrjähriger Suche nach einem Verlag erst im Januar 2016 möglich war.

Bibliographie

Bibliographie

Der Himmel auf ihren Schultern
S. Fischer
Frankfurt a. M., 2013
[Ü: Franziska Zwerg]

Menschen im August
S. Fischer
Frankfurt a. M., 2015
[Ü: Franziska Zwerg]

Zurück zur Autoren-Übersicht
© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0