• ESK 2014 Anneke Brassinga Matthias Neukirch

Manifesto

of the European Writers’ Conference 2016

Europe is a lifestyle. The history of Europe is marked by people who sought adventure and took risks. The impossible and freedom meet here. Stars twinkle on the palms of the hands.
Zmicier Vishniou. Translated by Zaia Alexander

When I think of Europe, I am reminded of the oft-cited fact that from outer space our continent has no visible national borders; no massive lines running through the landscape, across plateaus, hills and seas. Its diverse landscapes – divided by natural boundaries, such as coastlines, rivers, rock crevices, steppes and mountains, peninsulas and islands, the bottom of the sea and its surface – all of these places are simply where people have gathered over the centuries, in order to momentarily sound the ever-changing song of humanity.
Sjón. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Europe is the next village. The neighbor’s door. The next island.
Europe goes downhill and at the end there’s always the sea.
Europe is a cafe where all languages are spoken and everybody understands them.
Jordi Puntí

Living in a bilingual country, I’m often asked how I feel: am I a Flemish writer or a Belgian writer? Usually I say, as a writer, I feel first and foremost European. I am part of a strong European literary tradition. As a citizen, I am Flemish and Belgian and European. Many people can live within an individual.
I am writing this on March 22, 2016. Terrorist attacks in Zaventem and Brussels have thrown our country into a state of shock. How can we protect our tolerant society against brutal intolerance? In my opinion, this is the greatest challenge for Europe.
Peter Terrin

My homeland is no longer India, nor even France, but the French language. I am liberated, I am free, as a woman, as a writer, because I write, because I write in French.
Shumona Sinha

Europe is an archipelago full of word bridges.
Doris Kareva

The European Union held the promise of solidarity; it was supposed to be a coalition of different cultures which would find common ground through transparent democratic procedures, while taking care of its people and their social and natural environment.
Europe today is divided by bureaucracy, inequality, prejudices, fear and concrete wire, and the only chance of escaping the trap of local interests and a market held hostage by blackmail is for it to make good on its broken promise.
Ivana Sajko

Does Europe begin (at the Mediterranean), or does it end (before the Mediterranean)?
Mehmet Yashin. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Where is the center of Europe? If you looked at Europe as if it were a Vitruvian figure with the canonized proportions of a Da Vinci, or if you looked at the map of Europe as if it were a person looking at you, you would see that the center is located in the secure and well-protected Schengen Zone. But the heart beats, as it does in every human, further to the left. In the East, somewhere close to the Ukraine.
Serhiy Zhadan

As a European, I am a citizen once and twenty-seven times a foreigner.
Antje Rávic Strubel. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Today’s Russia is again separating itself from Europe. But this new wall built of hatred and ignorance can be undermined, just as it had in the USSR, with a word of truth.
Sergey Lebedev

For many people, Europe is the land of dreams; it stands for humanity and freedom.
That very same freedom for which many Syrians have died – both in Syria and in Europe. As for me, through my existence as a war refugee in Europe, I experienced that the humanity people display here stands in contrast to the policies of governments.
Some people may think Europe is great.
I, however, continue to be inspired by the magic and mystery of the Orient.
Kefah Ali Deeb. Translated by Zaia Alexander

A wo/man comes to Europe.
A wo/man on the move. The oldest story in the world. And the newest. A story for all time. Countless threads of this tale, woven together over millennia and now knotted ever more tightly, have made the fabric of Europe.
A wo/man on the move, one amongst millions. One of the many who seek a home and never find it, because Europe no longer lets them in. Their home must be somewhere else, preferably far from Europe. As far as aid and barriers can hold them. Their Europe is outside the continent, in camps and detention centres, or far under the waves. That’s their Europe. That’s their Ode to Joy.
Will Beethoven’s Ninth become an anthem of anathema? Or will Europe invigorate the score with rich new beats of world music?
Priya Basil

I grew up with European literature, with Robert Musil, Marcel Proust and others, and my own writing has evolved in their light. In a sense, we Israelis, whether we like it or not, whether in our literature or in our lives in general, are always standing with one foot in Europe and the other in the Middle East. And sometimes we ourselves don’t even know exactly where we are.
Nir Baram. Translated by Zaia Alexander

The European dialectic:
Reason divides, the mind connects.
Lukas Bärfuss. Translated by Zaia Alexander

The world is complicated, which is why we must resist the temptation to give simple answers.
Jonas Lüscher. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Europe reminds me of the Renaissance man Don Quixote, whose noble intentions and projects often stood in contrast to the cruel reality and even to the laws of nature. A great character for literature and inexhaustible material for a writer – for Europe’s Sancho Panza.
Eugenijus Ališanka

European literature can only be diverse, rich, and powerful if it includes, beyond the so-called “major” languages and literatures, the literary voices of all individual authors living in Europe, male or female, minorities, migrants, others, and otherness.
Lidija Dimkovska

Your words / my images / Your words /my country / native land / flag / Your words / the only possible social order
Jana Beňová. From: “Get off! Get off!”. Translated by John Minahane

THE WORST IS CRUELTY
Joanna Bator. Translated by Zaia Alexander

EUROPE IS A REGION WHERE…
Europe is a region where we try our best not to hate each other in a deadly way; we only go as far as loathing.
Europe is a region where we try not to be terrified of each other.
Europe is a region where it is no longer easy to say whether the sentences above sound deadly cynical or calmly optimistic.
György Dragomán

Honesty is also one of Europe’s core values. Honesty to point out the cold hearts, hollow promises, despicable hatred and cynical indifference within our souls.
Tilman Spengler. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Lack of empathy means being relegated to the periphery. It’s like standing on the wrong side of the barbed wire.
Dragana Mladenović

THE EUROPEAN DREAM
It is another world there. The towns and the multi-story buildings never end. People drive sleek cars and have amazing houses. Everyone works and builds a good life, and even those who don’t work, live well. When you don’t have any money left, you go to the bank and ask for more and they’ll give it to you, without asking you to pay back a thing. The girls are lovely and they never turn you down. The shops are called “supermarkets” because they have super foods. The honey is sweeter there than ours, and the snow on the mountains is as tasty as ice cream. Their dogs never bite and their mosquitoes don’t sting; instead, they just lick you. They leave their house doors open day and night; no one steals anything, because everyone has everything. Over there, it isn’t just the hens that lay eggs, but the cockerels too. There, it is just like a good dream that you want to last forever…
Jeton Neziraj. From the play “Peer Gynt from Kosovo”. Translated by Alexandra Channer

It is stated that Europe is a community of values. But values should be defended within the community and not on its borders.
Nicol Ljubić. Translated by Zaia Alexander

The international solidarity of EU citizens is now being called upon. But does it even exist? Where is the proud European citizenry of today that defends what it tenaciously has built for 300 years, despite the many setbacks?
Josef Haslinger. Translated by Zaia Alexander

If we deport all the fascists from Europe, there will be much more space for immigrants.
Jazra Khaleed

1. Prior to the First World War, Germany was the leader of Europe. After the Second World War, leading countries in Europe created the European Union to bring peace and stability. Today, Germany leads Europe; there is a lot of discussion and money, but there are no decisions.
2. If money is allowed to move freely across borders, people and animals should also be granted those same rights.
Rosa Liksom

Europe has accumulated so much history in the last 100 years alone. And you who are fleeing, you who are waiting behind the borders, wandering the seas, stopped by barbed wire, keep telling this story. In your mute way. You are voiceless storytellers. But we hear you. We hear you.
Mely Kiyak. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Culture destroys forts and builds bridges, but this is not the responsibility of creators alone; it is a shared responsibility between the artists, writers and politicians of Europe and its surrounding lands, behind seas and mountains. Culture needs freedom of mobility and material support for creators to realize their projects. I am a writer and my responsibility is to protect my pen, to raise it in protest against obscurity and violence; what I write is human and touches everybody without limits. I started writing in my mother’s garden and I continue doing so in many beloved places in Europe, I have new readers here, and now I am training my imagination to accept my new writing style, which differs greatly from how I used to write.
Najet Adouani

O era of doom and destruction; by walnut, horse, and fairy tales, man is as great as his grief.
Yavuz Ekinci. Translated by Zaia Alexander

Since I was very young, I’ve always felt as much a European as an Italian. As I write this, I realize it may sound inconvenient. It is not inconvenient for me.
I still have a memory of cars in a queue at the border between Italy and France, and nothing could ever make me wish I’d see that again. So it saddens and frightens me to hear we are stepping back in time, to fragmentation and closures.
Going back to the way it used to be would mean giving up half of my identity.
Paolo Giordano

While you were standing in your mother’s kitchen washing some cups, you said: Everything that I’m about to say, somebody else has already said. Hand me the pot.
While Katarina Taikon was speaking on the radio, she said: I didn’t invent human rights. I simply translated them from Romany.
Lawen Mohtadi

What do I wish for? For Europeans to hang out more often, drink beer together and talk.
Jaroslav Rudiš. Translated by Zaia Alexander

 

Read the manifesto of the 2014 conference here.

© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0

(English)
  • ESK 2014 Anneke Brassinga Matthias Neukirch

Manifest

der Europäischen Schriftstellerkonferenz 2016

Europa ist ein Lebensstil. Die Geschichte Europas ist geprägt von Menschen, die das Abenteuer suchten und Wagnisse eingingen. Hier begegnen sich das Unmögliche und die Freiheit. Auf den Handflächen aber funkeln Sterne.
Zmicier Vishniou. Aus dem Belarussischen von Martina Jakobson

Denke ich an Europa, werde ich an die wohlbekannte Tatsache erinnert, dass, vom Weltraum aus gesehen, auf unserem Kontinent keine sichtbaren Staatsgrenzen erkennbar sind; keine gewaltigen Linien, die sich durch die Landschaft ziehen, über Hochebenen, Hügel und Seen. Seine vielfältigen Landstriche – abgetrennt durch natürliche Grenzen wie Küsten, Flüsse, Felsspalten, Steppen und Berge, Landzungen und Inseln, den Grund des Meeres und seine Oberfläche – all das sind einfach Orte, an denen sich die Menschen über Jahrhunderte hindurch versammelt haben, um für einen kurzen Moment den immer wieder neuen Gesang der Menschheit erklingen zu lassen.
Sjón. Aus dem Isländischen von Betty Wahl

Europa ist das Dorf nebenan. Die Tür des Nachbarn. Die nächste Insel.
Europa geht bergab, und am Ende ist immer das Meer.
Europa ist ein Café, in dem man alle Sprachen spricht und jeder sie versteht.
Jordi Puntí. Aus dem Katalanischen von Michael Ebmeyer

Als Bürger eines zweisprachigen Landes werde ich häufig gefragt, was ich meinem Gefühl nach bin: ein flämischer Autor oder ein belgischer? Meist antworte ich, dass ich mich als Schriftsteller in erster Linie als Europäer empfinde. Ich bin mit beiden Füßen in einer starken europäischen literarischen Tradition verwurzelt. Als Bürger bin ich Flame und Belgier und Europäer. Ein Individuum kann viele Personen beherbergen.
Ich schreibe dies am 22. März 2016. Anschläge in Zaventem und Brüssel haben unser Land bis in seine Grundfesten erschüttert. Wie beschützen wir unsere tolerante Gesellschaft gegen Intoleranz? In meinen Augen ist das die größte Herausforderung, vor der Europa steht.
Peter Terrin. Aus dem Niederländischen von Helga van Beuningen

Meine Heimat ist weder Indien noch Frankreich, sondern die französische Sprache. Ich bin befreit, ich bin frei, als Frau und als Autorin, weil ich schreibe, weil ich auf Französisch schreibe.
Shumona Sinha. Aus dem Französischen von Lena Müller

Europa ist ein Archipel voller Wortbrücken.
Doris Kareva. Aus dem Englischen von Antje Rávic Strubel

Die Europäische Union war ein Versprechen zur Solidarität, eine Koalition verschiedener Kulturen, die imstande sind, eine gemeinsame Sprache durch transparente demokratische Prozeduren zu finden, und sich dabei um das Wohl der eigenen Völker zu kümmern, um ihre soziale und natürliche Umwelt.
Europa ist heute infolge von Bürokratie, Ungleichheit, Vorurteilen und Angst sowie durch einen ganz konkreten Zaun geteilt, und seine einzige Chance besteht darin, den Kokon der lokalen Interessen und der Erpressung durch den Markt zu verlassen und zu dem nicht gehaltenen Versprechen zurückzukehren.
Ivana Sajko. Aus dem Kroatischen von Alida Bremer

Beginnt Europa (am Mittelmeer), oder endet es (vor dem Mittelmeer)?
Mehmet Yashin. Aus dem Türkischen von Tevfik Turan

Wo liegt die Mitte Europas? Wenn man Europa als eine vitruvianische Figur mit kanonisierten Proportionen wie die von Da Vinci betrachtet, wenn man die Karte von Europa als einen Menschen sieht, der dich anschaut, liegt die Mitte in der sicheren und gut geschützten Schengen-Zone. Aber das Herz schlägt wie bei jedem Menschen weiter links. Im Osten, irgendwo da, wo die Ukraine liegt.
Serhij Zhadan. Aus dem Ukrainischen von Claudia Dathe

Als Europäerin bin ich einmal Einwohnerin und siebenundzwanzigmal Ausländerin.
Antje Rávic Strubel

Das heutige Russland grenzt sich wieder von Westeuropa ab. Aber so, wie es mit der UdSSR geschehen ist, lässt sich diese neu errichtete Mauer aus Ignoranz und Hass niederreißen – mit einem Wort der Wahrheit.
Sergej Lebedew. Aus dem Russischen von Franziska Zwerg

Europa ist für viele das Land der Träume, denn es steht für Menschlichkeit und Freiheit.
Jene Freiheit, für die viele Syrer gestorben sind – in Syrien und auch in Europa.
Was mich betrifft, so habe ich durch meine Existenz als Kriegsflüchtling in Europa die Erfahrung gemacht, dass sich die Humanität, die die Menschen hier an den Tag legen, von der Politik der Regierungen abhebt.
Für manch einen mag Europa großartig sein.
Mich dagegen begeistern nach wie vor Zauber und Geheimnis des Orients.
Kefah Ali Deeb. Aus dem Arabischen von Leila Chammaa

Ein Mensch kommt nach Europa.
Ein Mensch unterwegs. Die älteste Geschichte der Welt. Und die aktuellste. Eine Geschichte für alle Zeiten. Zahllose Fäden dieser Erzählung, über Jahrtausende miteinander verwoben und heute enger denn je verknüpft, haben Europa geschaffen.
Ein Mensch unterwegs, einer von Millionen. Einer von vielen, die ein Zuhause suchen und es nicht finden werden, weil Europa ihnen inzwischen den Einlass verwehrt. Ihr Zuhause hat anderswo zu sein, möglichst fern von Europa. So fern, wie Hilfe und Hindernisse sie halten können. Ihr Europa liegt außerhalb des Kontinents, in Zeltstädten und Internierungslagern oder tief unter den Wellen. Das ist ihr Europa. Das ist ihre Ode an die Freude.
Wird Beethovens Neunte zur Hymne der Missgunst werden? Oder wird Europa die Partitur mit prächtigen Beats der Weltmusik neu beleben?
Priya Basil. Aus dem Englischen von Beatrice Faßbender

Ich bin mit der europäischen Literatur groß geworden, mit Robert Musil, Marcel Proust und anderen, und mein eigenes Schreiben hat sich in ihrem Licht entwickelt. In gewissem Sinn werden wir Israelis, ob wir wollen oder nicht, sei es in unserer Literatur oder in unserem Leben allgemein, immer mit einem Bein in Europa und mit dem anderen im Nahen Osten sein. Und manchmal wissen wir selbst nicht, wo genau wir uns gerade befinden.
Nir Baram. Aus dem Hebräischen von Markus Lemke

Die europäische Dialektik:
Die Vernunft trennt, der Geist verbindet.
Lukas Bärfuss

Die Welt ist kompliziert, deshalb müssen wir der Versuchung widerstehen einfache Antworten zu liefern.
Jonas Lüscher

Europa erinnert mich an den Don Quijote der Renaissance. Seine hehren Ziele und Projekte befinden sich oft im Widerstreit mit der rauen Wirklichkeit und sogar mit den Naturgesetzen. Ein wunderbarer Protagonist für die Literatur und ein unerschöpflicher Stoff für einen Schriftsteller – für Europas Sancho Panza.
Eugenijus Ališanka. Aus dem Litauischen von Claudia Sinnig

Die europäische Literatur kann nur dann vielfältig, reich und stark sein, wenn sie nicht bloß aus den sogenannten großen Sprachen/Literaturen besteht, sondern aus den literarischen Stimmen jeder einzelnen Autorin und jedes einzelnen Autors in Europa, den Stimmen der Minderheiten, der Migranten, der anderen und überhaupt auch aus dem Anderssein.
Lidija Dimkovska. Aus dem Makedonischen von Alexander Sitzmann

Deine Worte / meine Bilder / Deine Worte / mein Land / meine Heimat / Flagge / Deine Worte / die einzig mögliche Gesellschaftsordnung
Jana Beňová. Aus: „Abhauen“. Aus dem Slowakischen von Andrea Koch-Reynolds. © Residenz Verlag GmbH, Salzburg – Wien

DAS SCHLIMMSTE IST GRAUSAMKEIT
Joanna Bator. Aus dem Polnischen von Lisa Palmes

EUROPA IST …
Jene Gegend, wo wir den tödlichen Hass aufeinander nach Kräften zu vermeiden suchen und uns höchstens wechselseitige Abneigung gestatten.
Jene Gegend, wo wir der tödlichen Furcht vor einander zu widerstehen suchen.
Jene Gegend, wo momentan schwer zu entscheiden ist, ob obige Sätze tödlichen Zynismus oder stillen Optimismus ausdrücken.
György Dragomán. Aus dem Ungarischen von Lacy Kornitzer

Auch Ehrlichkeit gehört zu den zentralen Werten Europas. Ehrlichkeit, die kalte Herzen, hohle Versprechen, schnöden Hass und zynische Gleichgültigkeit in unseren Seelen aufzeigt.
Tilman Spengler

Das Fehlen von Empathie ist das Gleiche, wie an der Peripherie stecken geblieben zu sein. Es ist das Gleiche, wie auf der falschen Seite des Stacheldrahtes zu stehen.
Dragana Mladenović. Aus dem Serbischen von Jelena Dabić

TRÄUME VON EUROPA
Dort ist eine andere Welt. Die Städte sind endlos und die Gebäude haben Hunderte von Stockwerken. Menschen fahren in schönen Autos und haben tolle Häuser. Alle arbeiten und führen ein gutes Leben, aber auch die Arbeitslosen leben gut. Wenn du kein Geld hast, gehst du zur Bank und stellst einen Antrag, und du bekommst es, ohne es zurückzahlen zu müssen. Die Mädchen sind lieb und sie weisen dich nicht zurück. Ihre Läden nennen sie „Supermarkt”, weil es dort super Lebensmittel gibt. Der Honig ist dort süßer als bei uns und sogar der Schnee in den Bergen schmeckt wie Fruchteis. Ihre Hunde beißen dich nicht und ihre Mücken stechen dich nicht, sondern lecken dich nur ab. Ihre Haustüren lassen sie Tag und Nacht offen, niemand klaut, weil alle alles haben. Dort legen nicht nur Hühner, sondern auch Hähne Eier. Es ist dort wie in einem schönen Traum, der nie zu Ende geht…
Jeton Neziraj. Aus: „Peer Gynt aus dem Kosovo“. Aus dem Albanischen von Zuzana Finger. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des S. Fischer Verlag, Theater & Medien, Frankfurt am Main

Es heißt, Europa sei eine Wertegemeinschaft. Aber Werte sollte man innerhalb der Gemeinschaft verteidigen und nicht an ihren Grenzen.
Nicol Ljubić

Gefragt wäre nun die internationale Solidarität der EU-Bürger. Aber gibt es die überhaupt? Wo steht heute das stolze europäische Bürgertum und verteidigt das, was es 300 Jahre lang, über viele Rückschläge hinweg, beharrlich aufgebaut hat?
Josef Haslinger

Wenn wir die Faschisten aus Europa abschieben, dann gibt es viel mehr Platz für Flüchtlinge.
Jazra Khaleed. Aus dem Griechischen von Ina Kutulas

1. Vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg war Deutschland der dominierende Staat in Europa. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg schufen die dominierenden Staaten Europas die Europäische Union, um aus unserem Kontinent eine Heimat des Friedens und der Stabilität zu machen. Heute dominiert Deutschland Europa. Es werden Gespräche geführt und es ist viel Geld vorhanden… aber wo bleiben die Entscheidungen?
2. Wenn sich das Geld auf der Welt frei bewegen darf, sollte das gleiche Recht auch für Menschen und Tiere gelten.
Rosa Liksom. Aus dem Finnischen von Stefan Moster

Europa hat allein in den letzten 100 Jahren so viel Geschichte gesammelt. Und Ihr, die Fliehenden, die Ihr hinter den Grenzen wartet, auf den Meeren irrt, an Stacheldrähten aufgehalten werdet, erzählt diese Geschichte weiter. Auf Eure stumme Art. Ihr seid Geschichtenerzähler ohne Stimme. Doch wir hören Euch. Wir hören Euch.
Mely Kiyak

Mit Kunst und Kultur trotzen wir den Widrigkeiten und bauen Brücken zwischen den Völkern. Dies ist eine Verantwortung, die Künstler und Politiker in Europa und Umgebung teilen. Kunst kann nur dann zur Entfaltung gelangen, Wirkungskraft entwickeln und Menschen bewegen, wenn Ausdrucks- und Bewegungsfreiheit garantiert sind, finanzielle Förderung gegeben ist und dem Ressort der Kultur in den künftigen europäischen Programmen ein wichtiger Stellenwert zugesprochen wird.
Als teilnehmende Schriftstellerin dieser Konferenz betrachte ich es als meine Pflicht, mich für die Literatur und die Kunst im Allgemeinen einzusetzen. Indem ich – aus der Außen- wie auch Innenwelt schöpfend und fernab von aufgezwungenen Festlegungen auf Zeit, Ort, Kategorie und Schema – unbeirrt weiterschreibe. Unbeirrt meinen Stift gegen jede Art von Gewalt, Unterdrückung und Ignoranz erhebe.
Zu schreiben begann ich als Kind im Garten meiner Mutter. Mittlerweile schreibe ich an anderen Orten. An Orten, die ich liebe und die mich lieben. Orten, an denen ich neue Leser gefunden habe und neue Lebenserfahrungen mache.
Najet Adouani. Aus dem Arabischen von Leila Chammaa

O Ära von Verhängnis und Verderben; bei Walnuss, Pferd und Märchen, der Mensch ist so groß wie sein Kummer.
Yavuz Ekinci. Aus dem Türkischen von Sabine Adatepe

Schon als Junge habe ich mich ebenso sehr als Europäer gefühlt wie als Italiener. Indem ich das schreibe, wird mir klar, dass das inopportun klingen könnte. Das ist es nicht für mich.
Ich erinnere mich noch an die Autoschlangen an der italienisch-französischen Grenze und nichts lässt mich wünschen, sie wiederzusehen. Deshalb schmerzt und erschreckt es mich, wenn ich von Schritten zurück reden höre, von Abschottung und Grenzschließungen.
Zu früher zurückzukehren wäre für mich, wie auf eine Hälfte meiner Zugehörigkeit zu verzichten.
Paolo Giordano. Aus dem Italienischen von Barbara Kleiner

Du standest in der Küche deiner Mutter und hattest einige Tassen abgewaschen, als du sagtest: Alles, was ich sagen werde, hat jemand anders schon gesagt. Gib mir den Topf.
Im Radio sprach Katarina Taikon, sie sagte: Ich habe die Menschenrechte nicht erfunden. Ich habe sie nur aus dem Romani übersetzt.
Lawen Mohtadi. Aus dem Schwedischen von Antje Rávic Strubel

Was ich mir so wünsche? Mehr Stammtisch für Europa. Um zusammen Bier zu trinken und zu reden.
Jaroslav Rudiš

 

Lesen Sie hier das Manifest der Konferenz von 2014.

© 2016 G + F Kulturarbeit gUG | Mommsenstraße 11 | D-10629 Berlin | Telefon: +49 30-9210849-0